Grenoble

The known history of Grenoble covers a period of more than two thousand years. During Gallo-Roman times, the Gallic village was named Cularo, then that of Gratianopolis. Its importance increased during the eleventh century when the counts of Albon chose the city as the capital of their province, the Dauphiné. This status, consolidated by annexation to France, allows it to develop its economy. Grenoble then becomes a parliamentary and military city, in the immediate vicinity of the border with Savoy.

In 1788, the population mobilized to defend their parliamentarians during Tile Day by attacking the royal troops. Antoine Barnave and Jean-Joseph Mounier, representatives of the Third Estate, at the origin of the famous Jeu de Paume oath, were famous Grenoble actors of the French Revolution.

The industrial development of Grenoble really began in the 18th century with glove-making and was accentuated in the second part of the 19th century, with the discovery of white coal. But Grenoble experienced its strongest growth during the Thirty Glorious Years.

The organization of the Winter Olympics (1968) symbolizes this period of great upheaval for the city. As its development continues, Grenoble is today asserting itself as a major European scientific center

Find more information on these sites

logo-musée-17.png
logo-grenoble-tourisme.png
museedegrenoble.jpg
logo_Bastille_quadri_gris_horizontal_100

Grenoble

L’histoire connue de Grenoble couvre une période de plus de deux mille ans. Durant l'époque gallo-romaine, le bourg gaulois porte le nom de Cularo, puis celui de Gratianopolis. Son importance s'accroît durant le xie siècle lorsque les comtes d’Albon choisissent la cité comme capitale de leur province, le Dauphiné. Ce statut, consolidé par l'annexion à la France, lui permet de développer son économie. Grenoble devient alors une ville parlementaire et militaire, à proximité immédiate de la frontière avec la Savoie.

En 1788, la population s'est mobilisée pour défendre ses parlementaires lors de la Journée des Tuiles en attaquant les troupes royales. Antoine Barnave et Jean-Joseph Mounier, représentants du Tiers état, à l'origine du fameux serment du jeu de Paume, furent d'illustres acteurs grenoblois de la Révolution française.

Le développement industriel de Grenoble commence véritablement au xviiie siècle avec la ganterie et s’accentue dans la deuxième partie du xixe siècle, avec la découverte de la houille blanche. Mais Grenoble connaît sa croissance la plus forte durant les Trente Glorieuses.

L'organisation des Jeux olympiques d’hiver (1968) symbolise cette période de grands bouleversements pour la ville. Son développement continuant, Grenoble s'affirme aujourd’hui comme un grand centre scientifique européen

Plus d'informations

sur ces sites

logo-musée-17.png
logo-grenoble-tourisme.png
museedegrenoble.jpg
logo_Bastille_quadri_gris_horizontal_100

SECURE PAYMENT:

© 2020 by  GALLOUX GOUBERT Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Googlemap gite savoie galloux
  • airbnb gite savoie galloux
  • booking gite savoie galloux
  • abritel gite savoie galloux goubert
  • Facebook gite galloux goubert