Geneva

Geneva is probably best known as one of the centers of international diplomacy, led by the United Nations Office (UN). But Geneva is not only an international city, it is also a city of culture, a city of parks and more discreetly recognized as being a city of finances.

Geneva is today home to some two hundred international organizations, governmental and non-governmental. It is a city of culture with its theater, its opera, its universities and its schools, not less than forty museums etc ...

Geneva has been an independent republic since the 16th century until it became a Swiss canton on December 31, 1815. One of the popular festive events is the Escalade. the latter commemorates a failed attempt by the Duke of Savoy, on the night of December 11 to 12, 1602, to invade the city by climbing its fortified walls. Having repelled the invasion at the cost of only sixteen lives, Geneva gained its freedom, and the Maison de Savoie was never strong enough to attempt a new invasion.

Geneva is nicknamed "Protestant Rome", welcoming from the 16th century a number of Protestant thinkers, theologians and philosophers, one of whose main figures, Jean Calvin, marked Geneva far beyond his theological teaching (we sometimes nicknamed Geneva " Calvingrad ").

After the turbulence of the Middle Ages, and while keeping its neutral attitude, Geneva acquired the prestigious status of City of Peace and Integration with the creation, in 1863, by Henry Dunant, of the International Committee of the Red Cross, whose ideal and role remain, alas, still as current. Since then, Geneva has continued to profile itself as the city of major international peace and humanitarian negotiations.

Find more information on these sites

GetYour Guide.png
logo Voyagetip.png
logo_OT_Genève.png

Genève

Genève est probablement plus connue comme l'un des centres de la diplomatie internationale avec en tête l'Office des Nations Unies (ONU). Mais Genève n'est pas seulement une ville internationale, c'est aussi une ville de culture, une cité de parcs et plus discrètement reconnue comme étant une cité de finances.

Genève abrite aujourd'hui quelque deux-cent organisations internationales, gouvernementales et non gouvernementales. C'est une ville de culture avec son théâtre, son opéra, ses universités et ses écoles, pas moins de quarante musées etc ...

Genève fut une république indépendante depuis le XVIe siècle jusqu'à ce qu'elle devienne un canton suisse le 31 décembre 1815. L'un des événements festifs populaires est l'Escalade. cette dernière commémore une tentative manquée du duc de Savoie, dans la nuit du 11 au 12 décembre 1602, d'envahir la ville en escaladant ses murs fortifiés. Ayant repoussé l'invasion au coût de seulement seize vies, Genève a acquis sa liberté, et la Maison de Savoie n'a jamais été assez forte pour tenter une nouvelle invasion.

Genève est surnommée la "Rome protestante", accueillant dès le XVIe siècle nombre de penseurs, théologiens et philosophes protestants, dont l'une des figures principales, Jean Calvin, marqua Genève bien au-delà de son enseignement théologique (on surnomme parfois Genève « Calvingrad »).

Passé les turbulences du Moyen Âge, et tout en gardant son attitude neutre, Genève acquière le prestigieux statut de Cité de la Paix et de l'intégration avec la création, en 1863, par Henry Dunant, du Comité International de la Croix-Rouge, dont l'idéal et le rôle restent, hélas, toujours aussi actuels. Depuis, Genève n'a cessé de se profiler comme la ville des grandes négociations internationales pour la paix et pour l'humanitaire.

Plus d'informations

sur ces sites

GetYour Guide.png
logo Voyagetip.png
logo_OT_Genève.png

SECURE PAYMENT:

© 2020 by  GALLOUX GOUBERT Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Googlemap gite savoie galloux
  • airbnb gite savoie galloux
  • booking gite savoie galloux
  • abritel gite savoie galloux goubert
  • Facebook gite galloux goubert