Montmelian

Located at a major crossroads, the town was the main toll and stopover point on the transalpine route in the 13th century, making it possible to reach Italy from France, which made his fortune. Humbert Mareschal sells, in 1277, the bridge and the toll of Montmélian to the count of Savoy, Philippe Ier.
It was not until 1553 that the French troops of François Ier took the city following the rapid submission of its governor. Henry II still fortified the site, fearing the arrival by the high valleys of Spanish troops.

The duke of Savoy recovers this territory in 1563 and from 1578, he modernizes the citadel which protects the city.

Twenty-two years later, Henri IV invaded Savoy in 1600. He besieged the city by Sully who said it was a marvelously strong place and the best it ever saw.

The conflicts between Savoy and France endured, and in 1630 Louis XIII and Richelieu took Chambéry back on May 17 besieged Montmélian. Despite a siege of thirteen months, the citadel commanded by Jaffré de Bens de Cavour did not capitulate; Louis XIV will also besiege it in 1691 and in 1701.

Taken, the citadel was destroyed in 1706, by order of the King of France and the council of Vauban16.

The hill that used to welcome it is now bare and has become a gazebo.

Find more information on these sites

OT montmélian.png
Savoie MontBlanc.jpg
logo-musée.png

Montmélian

Situé à un carrefour majeur, la localité constitue au XIIIe siècle le principal lieu de péage et d'étape de l'itinéraire transalpin permettant de gagner l'Italie depuis la France, ce qui fit sa fortune. Humbert Mareschal vend, en 1277, le pont et le péage de Montmélian au comte de Savoie, Philippe Ier.
Il faut attendre 1553, pour que les troupes françaises de François Ier prennent la cité à la suite de la soumission rapide de son gouverneur. Henri II fortifie encore le site, craignant l'arrivée par les hautes-vallées des troupes espagnoles.

Le duc de Savoie récupère ce territoires en 1563 et dès 1578, il modernise la citadelle qui protège la ville.

Vingt-deux ans plus tard, Henri IV envahit la Savoie en 1600. Il fait assiéger la ville par Sully qui dira qu'elle est une merveilleusement forte place et la meilleure qu'il vit jamais.

Les conflits entre la Savoie et la France perdurent, et en 1630 Louis XIII et Richelieu reprennent Chambéry le 17 mai assiègent Montmélian. Malgré un siège de treize mois, la citadelle commandée par Jaffré de Bens de Cavour ne capitule pas; Louis XIV l'assiègera également en 1691 et en 1701.

Prise, la citadelle est détruite en 1706, sur ordre du roi de France et le conseil de Vauban16.

La colline qui l'accueillait est aujourd'hui nue et elle est devenue un belvédère.

Plus d'informations

sur ces sites

OT montmélian.png
Savoie MontBlanc.jpg
logo-musée.png

SECURE PAYMENT:

© 2020 by  GALLOUX GOUBERT Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Googlemap gite savoie galloux
  • airbnb gite savoie galloux
  • booking gite savoie galloux
  • abritel gite savoie galloux goubert
  • Facebook gite galloux goubert